Italy provinces map

Italy map regions provinces. Italy provinces map (Southern Europe - Europe) to print. Italy provinces map (Southern Europe - Europe) to download. In Italy, a province (provincia) is an administrative division of intermediate level between a municipality (comune) and a region (regione). A province is composed of many municipalities (comune), and usually several provinces form a region. The region of Aosta Valley is the only exception being the province coincident with the region. The three main functions devolved to provinces as its shown in Italy provinces map are: Local planning and zoning, Provision of local police and fire services and transportation regulation (car registration, maintenance of local roads, etc.).

Italy map regions provinces

printPrint system_update_altDownload
There are 110 provinces in Italy as its mentioned in Italy provinces map. Lombardy has the most provinces, with 12. The number of provinces in Italy has been steadily growing in recent years, as many new ones are carved out of older ones. Each province is headed by a President assisted by a legislative body, the Provincial Council, and an executive body, the Provincial Executive. President and members of Council are elected together by resident citizens: the coalition of the elected President (who needs an absolute majority in the first or second round of voting) gains the three fifths of the Council's seats. The Executive is chaired by the President who appoint others members, called assessori.
In each province in Italy there is a Prefect (prefetto), a representative of central government who heads an agency called prefettura-ufficio territoriale del governo. The Questor (questore) is the head of State Police (Polizia di Stato) in the province and his office is called questura. There is also a province police force depending from local government, called provincial police (polizia provinciale). The South Tyrol and Trentino as you can see in Italy provinces map are autonomous provinces: unlike all other provinces they have the same legislative powers of regions and are not subordinated to the region they are part of, namely the region of Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol.
Italy is divided into 101 province (sing. provincia: provinces), 8 metropolitan cities, and Aosta, whose provincial functions are carried out by the regional government of Valle d'Aosta as its shown in Italy provinces map. Provinces are often deemed useless, and many proposes have been made in recent years to eliminate them. However, the difficulty of changing a constitutional law and the opposition of some groups and politicians halted any reform proposal.